The Wolf Among Us – Game Review

A few days ago I completed The Wolf Among Us, and I’m saddened to say I was a little disappointed.

The Wolf Among Us is the third TellTale Games series I’ve played, the first being The Walking Dead, second Game of Thrones. I really enjoy their style of gameplay, and was lucky enough to buy The TellTale Collection on PS4 during the sale a couple of months ago.

The_Wolf_Among_Us_Bigby

So, why the disappointment? The length of the game. It was just far too short! Each episode is divided into chapters, and after completing each chapter you earn a trophy. I found that I was gaining trophies at an alarming rate, completing chapters in ten minutes, with one chapter in the final episode being less than five minutes long. The ending felt incredibly rushed, and comparing the finale of The Wolf Among Us to The Walking Dead (which had me blubbing into my dressing gown..), it was surprising to think that the two games were from the same developers.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the game. I found myself invested in the characters: having a soft spot for the lovable rogue, Bigby, feeling incredibly bad for Mr Toad and his son, TJ, and hoping there’d be a little bit more going on between Snow White and The Big Bad Wolf.

The graphics are what you’d expect from a TellTale Game, and I absolutely loved it. Each scene looked like it had been taken directly from a comic book page, with the use of dark colours contrasting with vibrant purples and pinks. It reminded me of 80’s cop movies, especially with the emphasis on synths in the game soundtrack – not to mention the reference to the 80’s cop movie, Cobra, during the first scene of the game.

TWAU_Dark_Future

Mongoose? How Sly, don’t you think?

One thing that gets two thumbs up from me? The intro. So. Goddamn. Cool. It definitely sets off the tone of the game – Bigby casually walking through the city at night, with nothing but his burning cigarette and beat of his synthy theme tune to guide the way.

As much as I was enchanted by the story of fairytale characters gone wrong, I definitely felt at some parts of the game that I was watching instead of actually playing. Yes, the Quicktime elements were there, and the decisions I made affected the way other characters decided to trust or speak to Bigby. However, something isn’t quite right when you can eat a whole meal and only have to push a button every so often. It was beginning to feel more like a TV show than a game.

During my playthrough and confusion at the shortness of episodes, I took to the internet to see if anyone agreed with me. It seemed a lot of people were just as annoyed as myself, but to add insult to injury most people had to wait months between episodes. I feel slightly privileged that I was able to jump seamlessly from one episode to the next, and I’ll be honest – I probably would’ve given up on the game if I had to wait so long for short episodes.

Overall? A pretty good game, let down by being far too short, a rushed ending and minimal gameplay. There’s news of a Season Two being released – which I’ll most probably play, but only when all of the episodes are eventually released. Fingers crossed Telltale Games spend a bit more time on Season Two, flesh the game out, and give these characters the story they deserve.

– AmyGames

Twitter: https://twitter.com/littleamyhere

One comment

Leave a Reply

